The One That Got Away!

mr.rigger

I went on a speed dating event with a friend recently. I wasn’t looking for a relationship, I was just curious. I’ve never been to speed dates or blind dates before, so when my friend told me about it, I was excited.

The event was jammed. A lot of people attend, all dressed to impress.

When the speed date started, I was a bit nervous and I started panicking. The guys I was paired with was obviously nervous as well. We started talking about random things and got comfortable after a couple of question.

He was a rigger.

I’ve never heard of that profession before. It sparked my curiosity even more so I asked him to elaborate.

It turns out that a rigger is a person who specializes in the lifting and moving of heavy or large objects, often with the assistance of a crane or any lifting device. He told me that the term rigger was formed from the days of sailing.

Riggers were people who worked with riggings which are ropes for raising the sails. Sailors put their rope skills to work in hoisting and hauling.

In those days, mechanical ropes and pulleys were the only way to move extremely heavy objects. In the modern age, riggers attached huge objects to cranes using cables, chains or straps.

Calculations are necessary to make sure the objects will be moved safely. He said it takes a lot of thinking and suspension techniques to get the objects around obstacles on a construction area.

That’s when the bell rang. Times up.

We had to move to the next person. We bid goodbye and moved from table to table. Then I realized, I never got the chance to ask for his name! I’ll just call him, Mr. Rigger.

For more about rigging materials, visit eRigging Supply 

 

Leave a Reply

